top of page
Search
  • shelbykriedman

A Day at Bethany

A few days after arriving I started my volunteering roll with Bethany House. I started on a Friday and spent the morning just getting used to the house and meeting staff and residents. In the afternoon I went over to the main Bethany offices and did induction paperwork along with getting to know the Bethany projects. They have several locations throughout Edinburgh to help support people as much as they can.



The location I’m at is a hostel style accommodation. We receive referrals from the Edinburgh Council when there are vacancies and that helps to fill those spots. Folks who stay here are usually looking to move on to another type of accommodation which could be a flat or house. Sometimes it can take about two years for that to happen though.



My first three weeks here were the day shift induction period where I was, and still am, learning how to do my role and respond to issues or questions that might come up. All of the staff have been wonderful in welcoming and willingness to teach me. After those three weeks I switched to 12 hour days and a rotation of being in for two days then off for two.



Our normal day starts off with several handover reports, praying for nightshift and the different flats in the house, and we do devotions each morning after conducting welfare checks. Our Shift leader for the day normally helps split up the tasks for the day. While these can very we have a few that stay the same. We always (except for some on the weekends) do flat cleaning, cook lunch, window checks, and holding the office. Most of that starts gets finished in the mid-afternoon, then usually a staff will lead devotions for residents to attend if they would like. Soon after its time to start dinner service, then its clean up. In the evening we have a team meeting in the office to catch up and go over our days. To finish up the day we hold a flat meeting on a rotating schedule for each flat and continue to hold the office to help with anything that comes up.


So far I am greatly enjoying my time at Bethany, feeling like I understand and fit into what goes on here. I’m excited to continue learning and seeing what this next year hold for me at Bethany .

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page