top of page
Search
  • shelbykriedman

Better Together: Hogmanay

Luke 10:25-37 or the "Good Samaritan" story Jesus reminds us of the commandments "'to love the Lord your God with all of your heart, all of your soul, with all of your strength, and with all of your mind' and 'love your neighbor as yourself'". At the end of the story Jesus commands us to go out and be a neighbor to others.


Though out this Lenten season the church I belong to in the states has had a theme of "Better Together". Where they have been looking at community and sharing different welcoming stories from with in our congregation. With currently being in a different country I have experienced this welcoming spirit in several ways but wanted to share with you one of my experiences.

Pictures (left to right): Ceilidh at Glenrothes Baptist Church, the Ceilidh band, me in the North Sea during the Loony Dook, Stovies


This year I was invited by my site manager at Bethany, Laura, to her churches Ceilidh and then to their Loony Dook the next day for New Years or Hogmanay here. I was absolutely amazed at how kind and inclusive everyone was. During the Ceilidh, which is a traditional Scottish dance or social gathering, you could feel the excitement in the air as the Pastor gave his welcome and the band struck up their first song. I figured it would mostly be a night to get to see the dances, enjoy some stovies, and maybe make a little small talk as I didn't know many people there. Man, was I wrong with in the first few songs I had gotten to know the folks at my table and was up dancing with everyone. We swung around and as one song turned into another more people were invited in before I knew it the dance floor was full. The hours pasted quickly with more dances, food, and laughter before I knew it the final song of Should auld acquaintance be forgot was being sung as everyone linked arms and began barreling in and out of the circle. Once the party was over we headed over to Laura's house where we counted down the new year and headed off to bed...after a few quick rounds of mini golf with her son on the switch. The next morning we headed off to the shoreline after church to do another tradition of a Looney Dook. A good bit of the congregation from the night before joined us, some to take the dip too but most to watch. Again I was amazed at how everyone made me feel like one of them and not just a stranger being a bit crazy and plunging into a freezing sea. As we all ran out to the ocean there they were cheering us on. As we came out they had towels and warm drinks making sure we were all ok. These experiences have helped me understand more what God calls us all todo in loving your neighbor as yourself and how even though I'm thousands of miles from home this teaching really does make us feel better together.






15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page